For a guy who hates to repeat his sentences, I had to resort to reading through my last post about this similar topic just to make sure the metaphors and syntaxes don’t repeat themselves. I thought of many ways to present this topic. I was dreading of the day since Dec 23rd when he announced his retirement from ODI cricket. To the naysayers who called him “A player for money”, he quit the IPL before First Class and Tests. His last First Class game for Bombay, proved himself a Hero as he stood ground and watched Victory come to it’s knees. As of the 48th over yesterday, he had played his last innings in recorded history. And thus, 10 months and 24 days later, Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar retires from all forms of Cricket.

My way of writing any post, is formed by creating a blueprint. The way I try to write would be to gather all pointers and metaphors about the topic, then fill the tiny gaps to progress through the paragraphs, stack them in order and bring in a conclusion. Today, I merely choose to write as I please.

The 50s and 60s were the era of Peace and Rock. 70s was Disco, 80s was Pop. That was the general connotation labeled by people living in the ubiquitous world measured in it’s most common factor – i.e. Music. These opinions were never to be challenged or argued with, for the fact that we had to live through them to opine on them. But if it were up to me, to label the 90s and the 00s, if it were up to me to bring in the single determinant factor – I’d say Sachin Tendulkar. I’d choose him over “Bad Dressing Sense”, “Item Numbers”, “Remixes”, and “Downfall of the Hip-Hop Genre”. I’d choose him over “Medical and Scientific Prowess”, “Technological Advances” and “War on Terrorism”. And for the future, I’d choose him over “Liberty”, “Free Speech”, “Humanity” and “World Peace” if given the chance. If I would be given one wish to grant, I’d wish for Sachin’s age and athleticism to be equal to his legacy – Immortal.

What I Shall Miss:
* I’ll miss being superstitious. I’ll miss saying the Lord’s name over every Appeal by Keeper or Bowler in the time the Umpire gave his final decision. Consequently, I’ll miss the Third Umpire Replays I hated.

* I’ll miss abusing the commentators for pointing out strategies that could help slow the innings or get the wicket of my God.

* I’ll miss the arguments and debates, defending my God’s honor particularly the kinds which I had to have in the Golden Era of Indian Cricket.

* I’ll miss getting cramps and seering pain in my fingers and toes because crossing them over and over always meant God would stay not out.

* I’ll miss hiding from my friends’ vision to wipe the tear off my eye over every century I witnessed my God score.

* I’ll miss having to search for International Time Differences, just to wake up early for Test Matches in New Zealand, Australia or West Indies.

* I’ll miss reading the newspaper to find new ways of Word-Play like “Sach-in Amazing Display” as they would toy with their headlines to showcase God’s true genius.

* I’ll miss the amatuerish ways by which cynical fans would stoop low in finding his flaws. Boy, are they jobless now!?

* I’ll miss the definition of the word “Straight Drive”.

What I’ll Cherish: One Life. One Privilege. One Love. One Sight. The fact that being born in this era despite it’s flaws, and being witness to the most amazing Human ever to grace this planet. The only reason for me to live this life again, would be just to watch Sachin Tendulkar live on ESPN/STAR Sports.

What I will cherish for the rest of my life is the opportunity that whenever my son, nephew or grandson would ask me for a heroic story, I would always have an inning of Sachin Tendulkar ready.

Why There Can’t Be Another Sachin?: Well, that’s one question that has been pining in ever since the Millenium passed. Yes, he is a mortal and Yes, reflexes and agility take a serious hit after a certain average age. And there have been plenty of those experienced in the field of Cricket [The kinds who tagged my God as a Child Protege], who tag the Sharmas and the Kohlis to be his equivalent. But Sachin is bigger than that.

Let me walk you through this. India was World Champion in 1983 and till 1986, it reigned Cricket for a small era like the immortal West Indies of the 70s. After 1986, for more than a decade we failed to win major tournaments. All of the regular faces of India’s dominant camp had found peace behind the microphone, and amid the rubble that was the Indian team, one consistent force stood – Sachin. All through that era, even before the likes of Ganguly, Dravid and Laxman cemented their squad in the glorious era called the Indian Middle Order Wall, there was this feeling that India was victorious only till Sachin stayed at the crease. That factor was irrespective, if the required run rate was 7, or we trailed by 250 runs. We just wanted to watch him bat, victory was appreciated but not necessary.

Being Sachin is being a Statistician’s worst nightmare. Being Sachin is about being a hope, being an ideal, being an inspiration. Being “Sachin” means being compared to the best batsman in the world every time you hold the Cricket bat. Being Sachin means walking down the street, and daydreaming of scoring a century for the National Team, not “as” Sachin but “With” Sachin because he is irreplaceable in our hearts. Being Sachin means Being “Belief” it self.

Indian team currently is in safe hands of a talented and dedicated bunch of individuals. But for there to be another Sachin, India will have to plummet to pathetic depths before it can rise again. And that is the aura and legacy of Tendulkar.

In the end I’d say that these were not just your amazing 24 years in Cricketing History, these are also the 24 years of my age and my life. Thank You, Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar – Friend, Hero, Idol, and God. 200 Not Out in ODI History, 200 Not Out in Number of Tests played, Number 10 on our Jerseys and Number 1 in our Hearts, Minds and Conscience.

Love You,
Khushrav.